Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Nicely Icey: Ewen Bell loves Iceland

Photographer, Ewen Bell, is back from Iceland

Nicely Icey - Photo Essay

Horses and Ice Caves / Iceland / We always have a few good cracks at the aurora when travelling in Iceland, but this time we also got a chance to watch the colours dance inside an ice cave.

"I love the way light dances through the ice, revealing a hint of it's origins from glaciers far back in time. On this adventure to Iceland we chased the ice on beaches, the snow falling at dusk, the geysirs erupting for its audience and the deep dark hues within freshly revealed glacial caves. And we made friends with lots of Icelandic horses, because I love them too :)"

Sunday, August 21, 2016

Australia’s most awarded travel writers

The Travel Writers co-operative prides itself on assembling the best and most talented travel journalists and photographers for both single feature commissions as well as large content projects.

With the announcement of the latest winners of the Australian Society of Travel Writers Awards for Excellence, it is clear the team have an abundance of ability and experience to offer publishers of travel and lifestyle content.

John Borthwick: Is he Australia's
most awarded travel writer?
No stranger to accolades is the inveterate “professional tourist” and PhD, John Borthwick, who returned to the spotlight with the big one - ASTW Travel Writer of the Year - an award he has won before, along with multiple category awards over the last 20+ years. Borthwick also picked up the prestigious PATA Gold Award for destination journalism in 2008.

Winners in their respective categories were Craig Tansley (Cruise), Lee Atkinson (Adventure), Lee Mylne (Travel Trade), Kerry van der Jagt (Australian and Kennedy Award for Outstanding Travel Writing 2015 and AFTA Best Travel Writer 2014) and Carla Grossetti (Food).

Other members were hot on their heels with many providing fierce competition as finalists. Angela Saurine (also AFTA Best Travel Writer 2012), Kris Madden (a three time ASTW winner), Belinda Jackson, Helen Hayes and Aleney de Winter (Winner ‘Voices of Australia' 2014).

Acclaimed travel and documentary photographer, Ewen Bell, was awarded ASTW Travel Photographer of the Year in 2007.

The Travel Writers founder, Roderick Eime, was elated at the news he had won the 2016 PATA Gold Award for Destination Journalism but had to be content to be named as a finalist in this year’s ASTW Awards. He has had multiple wins in the past including two gongs for ‘Travel Photographer of the Year’ and a finalist for AFTA Best Travel Writer in 2015.

To discuss your travel and lifestyle content, please contact Travel Writers